Familial or Non-Familial (Sporadic) Hemiplegic Migraines

The genes associated with hemiplegic migraine are
CACNA1A,
ATP1A2, and
SCN1A

I had over 75 episodes last year and the doctors are no wiser as to what to do to prevent them. They last from 7 minutes with speech disturbances but paralysis lasts longer, to one the other night that lasted one and one-half hours with paralysis longer. The longest I’ve had is 3 hours speech and about 5 hours paralysis. I’ve had MRI, CAT scan, caratoid arterial scan etc. All seem clear.

Looking to get in touch with others and discuss treatment options.

Cheers
Marci in Australia

2 Likes

I was diagnosed with this. Turns out I had a brain tumor. Get multiple opinions. I took me 10 opinions toget the correct answer. H had CyberKnife radiation, and it fixed me right up.

3 Likes

Thanks so much. I’ll be more diligent in getting more opinions!

Check into Todd’s Paralysis as well. I am a Geologist, and not a Doctor, but there may be a possibility of a brain lesion causing this type of problem. Mine was a big, fat, messy brain tumor that somhow got ignored, but there could be a small calcifcation from a bleed, or some other structural abnormality. If you have MRI’s, or CAT scans, you can send them off to fancy places like Hopkins, MC Anderson, UCLA, Cleveland Clinic, Yale for cheap to free. They then take the films to a Tumor Board, where all of the Fancy Pants neurologists, radiation oncologists and Radiologists look at the films together. It is a priceless service. No travel, minimal cost or free. I am prejudiced against all of the Bonehead hospitals in Boston that told me I had migraines, but maybe they are better now. Dana Farber, Brigham, Mass General, Beth Israel, Boston Medical Center. You can send them CD of the films.

2 Likes