Brca 1 & 2

New here - my doctor tested me for BRCA 1 & 2 and other hereditary cancer genes and all came back negative, but my results from 23andme in Livewello show that I do have BRCA 1 & 2. My question is, do doctors only check for a few certain variations of the gene or do the tests for the hundreds that are know? Do they only test for the ones that are know to be negative?

2 Likes

I was tested after ovarian cancer treatment and tested negative. However, my 23&Me data, I have many SNPs in Livewello show all kinds of cancers and it includes breast. I am assuming it’s because if homogeneous and heterogeneous. I wish to know the same.

1 Like

I have no personal knowledge or experience re. breast cancer, but a couple tidbits for your consideration: Forgive me if you already know all the following ; I don’t want to assume anything.

1. Livewello only shows your phenotype for various SNPs (identified “parts” of genes); i.e. whether you have the “wild” (more common) form, or the “variant” (less common) form of genotype. As we inherit two copies of DNA- one from each parent, genotyping shows you both copies (one from each of the intertwined strands) of your DNA coding for that SNP.
    Livewello only reports whether you have the “variant” form (on either or both strands) or the “wild” type, and per standard, expresses the phenotype as: -/- (both negative for the variant); -/+ if one of the two copies is “positive” for the variant, and +/+ if both copies are the variant. In the latter case, you’re said to be “homogeneous” for the variant.; or in the mixed case, “heterogeneous”.